How Do No-Sweat Bets Work

How did sports betting originate? It goes back to the early 1900s with U.K. horse racing. From there, it's expanded to cover every sport imaginable, and even some awards shows, politics, and even royal baby names.

One of the newer aspects of sports betting is the no-sweat bet. How do no-sweat bets work? Let's explore.

How a No-Sweat Bet Works

A no-sweat bet reduces the risk you would normally face when placing a bet. With a typical bet, you select the amount to wager and place the bet. If you're right, you win. If not, the sportsbook gains your wager, and you lose that money.

With a no-sweat bet, all or a portion of the bet you lost is refunded to your balance to use on future bets. There are rules that apply to these bets. Typically, the rules require you to wager on specific games, the wagers must have final odds of 400 or greater and may even have to parlay bets. The steps you'll take are:

  • Join the casino
  • Deposit at least $10
  • Bet the full amount you deposited (up to $1,000)
  • Wait to see if you win or lose
  • If you lose, you get an equal amount of free bets to the amount you risked
  • Use the free bets within 14 days

You don't get the cashback to withdraw, but you can use it to make additional bets. If those bets win, you've gained so much more than you would have normally.

Say your bet was for $20 on the January 22nd NFL game between the San Francisco 49ers and Dallas Cowboys. You bet that the Cowboys would win. At the end of the game, the Cowboys lost, so you're out the $20. With a no-sweat bet, you get that $20 in free play cash.

You can now put the $20 free play towards other games. You decide to wager $20 on the 49ers and Eagles. If you're right, you'd win the $20 plus whatever the prize is. If you're wrong, you lose that $20 for good.

FanDuel's No-Sweat Bet Is Back

Sign up and bet on your favorite teams and tournaments using no-sweat bets. If you're looking to join FanDuel, players from several U.S. states (Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming) are allowed to register.